The state of Florida requires all motorists to maintain certain levels of auto insurance coverage. The requirements for Florida drivers differ significantly from those of many other states due to the state’s no-fault policy.
Florida’s car insurance laws do not require bodily injury liability coverage, which is a mandatory coverage in most states, instead of relying on personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for injuries.
The following article provides information about the minimum levels of auto insurance required in Florida. The minimum amount of coverage required in the state of Florida is $10,000 for both PIP (personal injury protection) and PDL (property damage liability).
Exactly What Is PIP (personal injury protection)?
In Florida, there is no-fault system. No-fault laws mean that you will be covered by your own personal injury protection insurance up to your policy limits, no matter who is at fault. As opposed to most states, Florida does not require its residents to carry bodily injury insurance.
The medical expenses of someone injured in an accident caused by you are typically covered by your bodily injury liability. Medical costs are instead covered by the PIP. It is important to note that PIP insurance will not pay you for pain and suffering and that legal action would be necessary to receive compensation for such damages.
Getting liability insurance in Florida
A liability policy will cover those injured or who suffer damages if you cause an accident. You are never covered for your injuries or property damages by liability insurance. The other driver is the only one who is paid. Any damage you cause to another vehicle is covered by property damage liability.
Property damage caused by the at-fault driver remains the responsibility of the driver, even though the $10,000 limit is relatively low. Therefore, it makes sense to increase these limits in order to avoid being vulnerable.
What are the state-mandated auto insurance limits?
To drive legally, almost all states require a minimum amount of insurance. The limit is simply the lowest amount of coverage that you can have without breaking the law. For a relatively low premium increase, you can increase these limits. Each Florida driver is required to maintain liability insurance covering at least the amount previously mentioned.
It's important to comply with Florida's requirements for car insurance
The responding authorities require that anyone involved in an accident present evidence of insurance. A licensed driver whose vehicle does not have active property damage liability coverage and personal injury protection insurance is subject to a non-moving traffic infraction and has their license suspended. A first-degree misdemeanor occurs if you knowingly provide a law enforcement officer with expired insurance information. You may be fined and sentenced to jail. Providing proof of auto insurance within 24 hours of an accident can invalidate a citation for failing to do so.
The purpose of car insurance laws is to protect you and others. Contact the insurance experts at Guided Solutions for a quote today.